“A” good ride…

How strange. I’m sort of considered a tourist in New York City, now that I’ve relocated to Los Angeles.

I purposely did not come back here for nearly ten months after I left because, quite honestly, I didn’t think I’d return to LA. This city pulls me in like a magnet, always has, even when I was a tiny kid.

There’s something about the vibe, the energy here. Yes, NYC is pretty dirty, it’s turning more gentrified every day, there are too many people. The trains are too slow and full of oddballs. But really, there’s no better place on earth, at least to me.

3

The infamous A-Train at Broad Channel, Queens

Take just last night, Christmas night. I’m on the A-Train on a long ride back into Manhattan, after a pretty amazing Christmas dinner in Broad Channel. I mean, it’s WAY out there. Hopped onto the A, a man starts punching the sliding doors and ranting. I’m thinking, “ok, here we go…” Nothing out of the ordinary. There was a man deeper into the train car keeping watch over me to make sure the ranting whacko didn’t do anything violent to ME. No problem, he jumped off at Howard Beach — only to have two drunk guys jump on and sit next to me.

rant

This guy was yelling, ranting and punching these sliding doors. Maybe Santa screwed him over?

They were plastered and carrying bags of presents and singing Paul McCartney’s “Wonderful Christmas Time.” Turns out they worked at a dollar store where they heard the song 100 times a day. Which they hate, but couldn’t get it out of their heads. They started smoking on the train (BIG no no) and telling me their life story. How they were partners who visited one of their mothers for the first time in seven years, because “Moms” didn’t approve of the lifestyle, but seems to finally be coming around.

They said they “shook her down” for anything that wasn’t nailed down because they needed food and stuff for their apartment. Then they pulled out Dad’s homemade version of Nutcracker. (So far, I’ve seen no Nutcracker sellers this week). Let’s just say the more they drank, the funnier they became. At this point they started handing out cupcakes to everyone around them.

Then “Leonard” hopped onto the train somewhere in Bed-Stuy. He kept smiling at me and after a couple stops started talking to me. Nice man. Turns out he’s recruiting people to work for him in his financial franchise (he gave me his card) and wondered if I knew anybody who was breathing without a lengthy rap sheet who needed work.  We discussed the need for proper financial planning, etc.

Then “Guzman” joined the ride around Jay Street. My God was this man dressed nicely. Leonard told him so and we started chatting about Guzman’s background. He’s from Senegal, been in NYC for nine years and taught himself English by watching TV. Going to school for a double major in communications and fashion design.

We parted when I jumped off at Columbus Circle and sweet goodbyes and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year messages. Gotta say, it was one of the nicest rides I’ve ever had on the A-Train. All that chit-chat made the ride go much faster. And I don’t care what the “surveys” say. NYC really has some of the coolest people anywhere.

About nycnewsproducer

I am a network news producer in New York City. I'm living my lifelong dream in the greatest city in the world and I'm fascinated and inspired every day in the Big Apple. Check out the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/MyLifeInNewYork
This entry was posted in New York, Unique New York and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “A” good ride…

  1. GP Cox says:

    I was born on Broad Channel – it’s the greatest and so are the people!!

  2. I enjoyed the reading.
    And yes NYC is what you describe..
    Thank you..

  3. Catherine Fitz says:

    I love how you write.

Leave a comment